The Birth of StarbaseC3 – Virtual Worlds based on Content, Commerce, and Community

I recently had one of my older “print” version portfolios sent to me from CA. It seems I must go back to the past to go forward into my future;) While going through and scanning pieces of my past work, I found a 1997 issue of Macworld magazine. I wasnt sure why I had kept it, but upon openeing it I saw it contained a large article about web3d to which I contributed “quotes” etc. Overall , from its Adobe(Macromedia) and Disney proclamations about web3d dominance;)  the article could have been published again this week. Of course Second Life would be mentioned if it was.;)  Anyhow , the article also had a call out feature on StarbaseC3. This article seems to predate the AOL /Asylum version of the StarbaseC3 which would bring the product into one complete web interface that used Flash to combine the 3D MMO, the narrative, and the commerce systems. Im listed as in NY, so it probably was written  a few months before that .

Take a read if you like, the article documents the ideas that some say “still” need to become the only successful long term way to make virtuality a media that serves us, rather than us, it.

Leave a Reply

